top of page

Board Certification--a must in medical setting


ABPP--I'm excited to add these letters after my signature! I never thought I would get board certification after licensure. None of the psychologists in my hospital had board certification, and many of us in specialized areas sought recognition from our medical specialties rather than psychology. Yet, at my annual reviews and when promotions came, my medical colleagues often seemed confused by my lack of board certification. For MDs, board certification is a given to become a full staff member. Given that I have status as medical staff, it was difficult to explain my lack of board certification. In addition, some of my trusted mentors outside my instiution strongly urged me to complete ABPP to help me advance as a leader within my organizaiton and make me marketable and mobile should I move to another hospital. The process, although challenging, was rewarding and enriching. I was proud to showcase my expertise in health psychology, and I really enjoyed and grew as professional reviewing the latest in health psychology literature and professional ethics. I also benefitted from connecting with mentors and new colleagues in the Academy of Clinical Health Psychology. Then, last week, I received the news that I passed my last step in the oral exam. I have had a positive response, especially from the medical leadership and inquiries from other colleagues about starting the process. If you've considered board certification and work in an institution, I strongly encourage you to go for it.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page